More Topics »

Unanswered Postings

Welcome, Guest
      Username Password: Remember me

Failed Latarjet
      (1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Failed Latarjet

Failed Latarjet 2 years, 3 months ago #31212

Hello everyone, I have been stalking these boards for several months now and need some help/support. I had a Latarjet with Coracoid process bone graft, bicep tenodesis, slap tear, and general tightening and clean up on November 12, 2014. It's now almost 9 weeks post-op and I am 99% positive that the surgery failed. At 8 weeks post-op, I woke up to extreme pain and realized my shoulder was dislocated. It stayed out for about six hours before the pain meds and muscle relaxers kicked in enough to let it pop back into place. Since then, it has subluxed twice, and dislocated again completely last night. I am at a loss. This is my second surgery on my shoulder, the first was ten years ago...an open Bankart repair that failed at 2 months post op also. I've seen my surgeon, who ordered a CT scan, but since I go through the VA, everything takes weeks if not months to process through. Anyway, does anybody out there know what's next? Do they typically just go in and fix Latarjet's? Can my bone graft have just disintegrated or snapped in half? What kind of outcome can I expect if I do have another surgery so soon after this one? Sorry for the rambling all, I'm just a little freaked out about this whole thing. It took me over a year to get the VA to operate this time, and I'm kind of afraid I'll have to live with this pain for another year or so before it gets better.

Re: Failed Latarjet 2 years, 3 months ago #31215

• aksantacruz
      • Expert Boarder
      Sorry to hear your story but only your surgical team can tell you what's going on... hang in there. You had a lot done on your shoulder. They should treat you better at the VA.

Re: Failed Latarjet 2 years, 3 months ago #31221