Username Password: Remember me

5 months post-op slap lesion
      (1 viewing) (1) Guest
      • Page:

TOPIC: 5 months post-op slap lesion

5 months post-op slap lesion 9 years ago #4987

• Ellen
      • Fresh Boarder
      I had a type 2 slap repair on Sept 5/07. I had a scare 9 weeks post-op when I slipped on some ice but caught myself and automatically reached for the stair railing and my shoulder wasn't ready for that tug. It was excruciating, but pain went away within a couple of minutes. I thought I damaged something, but my physio said I didn't. I know I am not healing normally. My range of motion is OK, but I can't lift my arm and twist my wrist up my back very far yet. Anyway, about 2 weeks ago (5 1/2 months post-op) I started lifting and pulling heavier things than I am supposed to. I'm not supposed to lift anything heavier than 15 pounds for a year. I never put 2 and 2 together that pulling something heavy on wheels would be in the category of not lifing anything heavier than 15 pounds. I also dragged a few tables. I used both arms while pulling though. I don't do it anymore since the pain started. I have had pain and impingement in my shoulder since and have been told that it is probably just inflamed and I didn't actually tear anything more. Has anybody had this experience? I get so scared sometimes that I tore something else. I wish I could see into my shoulder

Re:5 months post-op slap lesion 9 years ago #5024

• Andy
      • Administrator
      It does sounds like inflammation. I've had this happen a few times. The shoulder has to get use to doing stuff like this again and it takes a while.

Pulling is no where near as bad as pushing is for the shoulder. My therapist told me to avoid pushing (motions like bench press) for a while, but pulling was okay.

I'd keep icing the shoulder and rest it a bit. You'll do fine!

Re:5 months post-op slap lesion 9 years ago #5028

• mcslain
      • Fresh Boarder